Jennifer Lawrence on Unequal Pay

Actor Jennifer Lawrence, action hero in The Hunger Games series, made a stir when she wrote an essay “Why Do I Make Less than my Male Co-Stars?” in the e-magazine Lenny.[i] She started by saying she hadn’t said more about feminism before because she didn’t like to part of a trend. However, “When the Sony hack [of Sony emails by a hacking collective called Guardians of Peace] happened and I found out how much less I was being paid than the lucky people with dicks, I didn’t get mad at Sony. I got mad at myself. I failed as a negotiator because I gave up early.” She explained that unlike the male actors in American Hustle, “I didn’t want to seem ‘difficult’ or ‘spoiled’.” She concluded, “I’m over trying to find the “adorable” way to state my opinion and still be likable! Fuck that.”

[i] http://us11.campaign-archive1.com/?u=a5b04a26aae05a24bc4efb63e&id=64e6f35176&e=1ba99d671e#wage

Leave a Reply

